Home > SSL certificate > Certificates types

The different types of certificates :

If there are different validation levels for SSL certificates, there are also different types of certificates that define which URL address(es) will be protected: a single domain name, a domain name and its subdomains or multiple domain names.

  • Single domain (Validation levels: DV, OV and EV)

A "single domain" certificate allows to secure one domain name. If you only have a website without subdomains containing input forms, this type of certificate is adequate.
Example : www.francedns.com

  • Wildcard: unlimited subdomains (Validation levels: DV and OV)

A Wildcard certificate allows to secure a domain name and all its subdomains. If your website contains forms on several of your subdomains, this type of certificate allows you to secure your entire website.
Example : www.francedns.com, support.francedns.com

  • Multi-domains: multiple domain names (Validation levels: DV, OV and EV)

Multi-domain certificates or Server Alternative Name (SAN) are used to secure multiple domain names. If you have different websites this is the simplest option as you use only one certificate.
Example : www.francedns.com, www.francedns.co

SSL Certificate

Learn how SSL certificates work thanks to these informative pages



Certificates types

Validation levels

Compatibility and warranty
Contact us
Any question? Need additional information?
You can contact us using the form below

Your email address :
Subject :
Message :